Courtney McDermott

Just another WordPress.com site

My First Book is Published

1 Comment

Yesterday, the fruits of my labor–which is very fitting, considering it was Labor Day–were finally realized. My first book, a collection of short stories, was finally published.

The book was conceived almost six years ago, when I returned from my stint as a Peace Corps Volunteer in Lesotho. The stories are all rooted in southern Africa, but I like to think–and I hope I accomplished this–that the stories still manage to be universal and accessible, while also challenging readers to step outside of themselves for a moment, and to embrace that truly human quality–empathy.

However, perhaps you should just read it for yourself…

Buy it Here: How They Spend Their Sundays (Whitepoint Press 2013)

 

 

One thought on “My First Book is Published

  1. Congratulations Courtney! I’ve always admired your writings, so I’m anxious to read your new book! Again, congratulations on achieving your goal!

Leave a Reply

